skip to main content
phone facebook email twitter youtube trophy

Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bryn Tawe


Sports News

Year 7’s girls netball team did extremely well recently when they competed in the Afan, Neath and Tawe Netball Tournament. 20 schools competed and the girls played with great commitment. Here are some of the results:

Llangatwg 0-3

Bishop Vaughan 1-0

Birchgrove 0-1

We went through to the second round for the plate and had to play into extra time to get a result! Although we lost at the end (1 goal to 0) it was an extremely close game! Congratulations to the entire squad: Morganne Brock, Eve Buckmaster, Cartin Kiernan, Carys Wheatley, Tally Jones, Poppy Jones, Carys Higgins, Emily Phillips, Grace Lancey, Amy Johnson, Eleanor Storey a Ashleigh Graham.

Emily Phillips and Carys Wheatley were the stars of the tournament!

Scholarship for Bangor

Massive congratulations to Nerys Williams from Year 13 for winning a £2,500 entrance scholarship for Bangor University. Nerys will be going to study Creative Welsh and Popular Music in September. As a department, we are extremely proud of her success. We wish you the very best Nerys!


Childrens’ Rights Conference ar Bryn Tawe!

Recently, our School Council organised a Childrens’ Rights Conference at Bryn Tawe for members of the school councils from all our feeder primary schools. Bryn Tawe pupils have been working diligently over the past two years to promote Childrens’ Rights within the school and it was wonderful to welcome over 50 pupils form our primary feeder schools during the morning. Every child has 42 rights and the conference was an opportunity for us to discuss and to celebrate those rights. Thank-you very much to the Bryn Tawe School Council for organising such a successful event and to Katie Spendiff from Swansea City Council for all her help. It was a wonderful morning!

ESU Wales Public Speaking Final

Congratulations to Manon, Rhys and Steffan (year 9) for participating in the Wales’ National Final of the ESU (English Speaking Union) Public Speaking competition, which was held in Ty Hywel, Cardiff on Monday, 14th March. The team were delighted to be named runners-up in the competition on their debut in the Welsh final. Their achievement is particularly noteworthy when considering they were the youngest team at the competition and all participants were taking part for the first time. Manon delivered an engaging and forthright speech on political leaders, whilst Steffan excelled in his role as chairperson, winning an individual prize for Best Chairperson. Rhys asked a range of pertinent and thought-provoking questions on the issue of equality in society and the whole team were a credit to the school. They look forward to competing next year and many thanks to Mr Shaw for training the pupils.



Year 12 students leading PSE!

Following a whole day workshop by the charity ‘Show Racism the Red Card’ at the beginning of the year, our Year 12 students were recently responsible for presenting PSE sessions to our Year 8 pupils on Racism. The sessions discussed stereotyping, positive use of language and racism within sport. The feedback from Year 8 pupils was fantastic and they thoroughly enjoyed discussing such important issues with older students within the school. Thank-you Year 12!

Myfyrwyr y chweched

World Book Day 2016

World Book Day was celebrated once again this year with a variety of activities. The celebrations started with a World Book Day Assembly. The sixth form led the assembly which celebrated the life of Roald Dahl as it is the centenary of his birth this year. A DVD was shown which hds been created over the past few weeks with members of the sixth form and some members of staff talking about their memories of reading Roald Dahl books.

During each lesson that day, a part of a story was read, so that everyone had heard a whole story by the end of the day.

During break-time, a coffee morning was held and Siop Tŷ Tawe came to sell various books.

A competition was held with pupils taking photographs of themselves reading in an interesting place

During the week, a Group of Year 9 pupils had the opportunity to read with pupils from Tan-y-Lan, Tirdeunaw and Felindre. 5 stories were read to the children in a circle and a vote was held on the children’s favourite book.

Many quizzes were also held during the week. One competition held in the library was guess which book is “in the box”?

A QR codes quiz was also held in Welsh lessons.

I hope that everyone was reminded of the enjoyment to be had from reading books.


Chairing Ceremony 2016

The school’s Chairing Ceremony was held again this year on 1 March as part of the school’s St David’s Day celebrations. As usual the school’s prefects, Nerys Williams and Llŷr Davies, were responsible for the event. This year, one of the school’s former pupils, Naomi Steel, was adjudicating. It was a pleasure to welcome her back and hear about her vast experiences of using Welsh in education, politics and the media.

Everyone listened carefully to the adjudication for the Chair and it became clear that ‘Gwenllian’ had pleased the adjudicator greatly. It was great to see Laura Hughes from Year 12 getting up from her seat at the back of the full hall to receive the privilege of being the school’s Head Litterateur this year. Many congratulations to her. Catrin Hedges came in second for the Chair, with Daniel Greenway in third place; both are from Year 12. The Welsh Department would like to thank everyone who competed and special thanks goes to the staff and pupils who took part in the ceremony.

Congratulations also goes to Steffan Leonard and Manon Keeble for winning the English Trophy and best wishes to them in the competition in London next week.

Here are the results of the other literary competitions:

Year 7 Poetry

1st – Ffion Tomos

2nd – Mili Ruthven

3rd – Ashton Williams


Year 7 Prose

1st – Ffion Tomos

2nd – Steffan Appleby

3rd – Ellie Allen and Amy Johnson


Year 8 Poetry

1st – Lowri Baynham

2nd – Jay Davies

3rd – Finlay Martin


Year 8 Prose

1st – Thea Wood

2nd – Angharad John

3rd – Thomas Hackett


Year 9 Poetry

1st – Tegan Madge

2nd – Steffan Leonard

3rd – Hannah Morgan


Year 9 Prose

1st – Steffan Leonard

2nd – Nansi Eccot

3rd – Jessica Lynn


Film Review

1st – Nansi Eccott

2nd – Romilly Harris

3rd – Hollie Jones and Steffan Leonard


Year 10

1st – Nel Richards

2nd – Alasdair Gunneberg

3rd – Bethan Hawkins

Eisteddfod 2