phone facebook email twitter youtube trophy

Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bryn Tawe


Workshop with Huw Aron

A group of boys from Yr 7 and 8 had an opportunity to experience a workshop with the author and artist Huw Aaron on Friday 3/3/17. Huw Aaron is the creator of the cartoon magazine Mellten and the pupils were delighted to read the magazine and then create their own cartoon characters and short stories.

Morgan Greenway was one of the boys who took part in the workshop, “I learnt how to create interesting cartoons to help children to enjoy reading. We learnt how to show positive and negative emotions. Thanks very much to Huw Aaron for coming to us.”

World Book Day 2017

We celebrated World Book Day once again this year with a variety of activities. The celebrations began with the World Book Day Service. The sixth form led the service and showed a DVD that had been created over recent weeks of members of the sixth form and staff discussing what they are currently reading. It was wonderful to see that a group of school staff and pupils had shown considerable imagination dressing up as characters from books.

At the end of every lesson during the day, an adaption of a short story was read over the tannoy, with Mr Davies, Mr Jenkins and Mrs Edwards-Jones displaying great acting skills! Everyone had heard the whole story by the end of the day.

During break time, a coffee morning was held and Siop Tŷ Tawe came to sell various books.

A group from Yr 13 who are studying Welsh went to perform the tale of Branwen for the children of Ysgol Felindre. Very original props were used!

A group from Yr 9 had an opportunity to read with Tirdeunaw, Lôn-las and Gellionnen schools. 5 stories were read to the children in turn and the children voted for their favourite book.

Hopefully, everyone was reminded of the enjoyment provided by reading books.


2017 Chairing Ceremony

Our Chairing Ceremony was held on 1 March as part of the school’s St David’s Day celebrations. This year, a brand new chair was created for the occasion: one that will be used and treasured for years to come. Thanks very much to Mr Brian Evans and Mr Bridgens for their delicate work creating the beautiful chair. The reigns were handed over, as usual, to the school’s head pupils, i.e. Anna Mathews and Iestyn Davies, who presided over the ceremony superbly.

This year, the Chief Poet Aneirin Karadog was the judge. It was good to welcome him back to us after he held two poetry workshops at the school recently with Yr 9 and 10 boys.

Everyone listened attentively to the criticism for the Chair and it became obvious that ‘Saunders 2’ had pleased the judge greatly. It was wonderful to see Sara Dafydd of Year 13 rising from her seat at the back of the packed hall to accept the privilege of being the school’s top writer this year. Huge congratulations to her. Second for the chair was Lowri Powell of Yr 10, with Hannah Morgan of Yr 10 third. The Welsh department would like to thank everyone who competed, particularly the staff and pupils who were part of the ceremony – especially Jasmine Lewis and Rhys Whatty for accompanying on the harp, Kirsty Lewis for singing the chairing song, Rachel Hadley and Sam Dawson for playing the fanfare, and Tara Camm and Rhys Evans for fetching the winner. It was wonderful also to see representatives from every year on the stage after they were chosen for commitment to Welshness at the school.

Congratulations also to Bethan Levy for winning the English trophy.

Here are the other literary results:

Yr 7 Poetry

1st- Angharad James

2nd- Dafydd Roberts

3rd- Kiera Fetch

 Yr 7 Prose

1st- Sion Thomas

2nd- Mirain Owen

3rd- Anest Cunliffe

 Yr 8 Poetry

1st- Ffion Tomos

2nd- Annwen Morgan

3rd- Ben Lervy and Hannah Non Cordingly

Yr 8 Prose

1st- Ffion Tomos

2nd- Amy Johnson

3rd- Grace Lancey

Yr 9 Poetry

1st- Thea Wood

2nd- Aaliyah Janes

3rd- Erin Owens

Yr 9 Prose

1st- Angharad John

2nd- Thea Wood and Megan Davies

3rd- Cameron Jenkins and Erin Owens

Film Review

1st- Jasmine Lewis

2nd- Ffion Gould

3rd- George Foley

Yr 10 Poetry

1st- Lowri Powell

2nd- Hannah Morgan

3rd- Lowri Evans

Yr 10 Prose

1st- Rhys Beynon

2nd- Manon Keeble

3rd- Rhodri Jenkins

Yr 12 and 13 Prose

1st- Sara Dafydd

2nd- Rhydian Cleaver

3rd- Sara Dafydd


Green Category’ School

We are proud to share with our parents that we have been recognised as a ‘Green Category’ School’ for this year. Parental Guide National Categorisation. A big thank you to all our staff and pupils for their continuous hard work!

Click on the link to see the Option Columns for Courses form

FFURFLEN COLOFNAU BL12 2016 – 2017 saesneg (2)

Workshop with Aneurin Karadog

18 boys from year 9 had the opportunity to take part in a workshop with the Poet Aneurin Karadog. The pupils were set a challenge to write a poem about War and had the opportunity to read their poems at the end of the day, with some pupils rapping their poems to the beat of Aneurin’s post. Many Thanks to Aneurin and congratulations to the boys for creating memorable poems that will be displayed in the school in the near future.



At the beginning of December, 65 year 7 students had the opportunity to enjoy a Pantomime based on the tale Blodeuwedd in the Gwyn Hall, Neath. Many Thanks to the company MEGA for a memorable performance.